Sunsets, Silhouettes

… and good company; mix them all together and you get a day well-spent.

I’m back in the motherland for a while during summer break, but I’ll be flying off sometime in August to do a bit of travelling before the second year of my degree starts. I’m also currently waiting for results to come out (but let’s not talk about that and my constant fear of not having done well).

And the country where I was born and raised in: Brunei Darussalam, the Abode of Peace, home to less than half a million people. My opinion of it in three words: peaceful, conservative, kind of dull. (Sorry, five words.) But the skies are always beautiful. In the early mornings the inky blackness of night transitions to a fiery mess of warm colours when the sun peeps above the horizon. In the afternoons it’s a blue so bright it hurts to look at, and rivulets of sweat drip down your spine if the only clouds drifting are those painted by a dry brush; in forgiving weather the clouds have been dabbed on copiously, using cotton pads. But the sky is my ultimate favourite during evenings; sunsets, in particular. Partially because I can’t be bothered to wake up for sunrises.

According to the geologist (in making): the small, spiky things are barnacles; the white rocks (…?) are molluscs; and the creepy caterpillar-looking ones are fossils.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Unsuccessful attempts in trying to scrape out the fossils.

The actual sunset:

And a few shots of said good company:

Good friends are hard to come by, but I’m glad I do have some.

Leave a Reply

